Never too late to lead

20120512-123854.jpg


“For their sake I dedicate myself completely to you, in order that they, too, may be truly dedicated to you.” (John 17:19 TEV)

Jesus knew he wouldn’t be with the disciples forever. He knew at the Last Supper that he would be hanging on a cross within a few hours. This is what he prayed: “Now I am departing from the world; they are staying in this world, but I am coming to you. Holy Father … now protect them by the power of your name” (John 17:11 NLT).

You’re not going to be with your children forever. Parenting is a season. It isn’t going to last forever, but it’s never too late to start leading.

You may be a grandparent now, but you can still be a spiritual leader to your grandchildren.

You can echo Jesus’ prayer, saying, “Father, before I depart the world, help me to impart godly truths to my children and grandchildren. Before I leave them behind and come to you, guide me to be a good steward of those you put in my care. Then I can give them back to you, knowing you have always and will always care for them.”

Talk About It —

. What do your kids see that you are committed to?

. What do you want them to see that you’re committed

Leave a Reply

